A Tourist In My Own Life

My Shadow in Zurich

I am a tourist in my own life. Being a tourist means observing from the outside. I have been traveling, experiencing people, places and lives that are new to me. I am still traveling, moving around the city, living in borrowed homes. Experiencing life with my friends in ways that has allowed me to know them better. As my bonds with my friends have deepened, I have learned about myself as well. My understanding of other people’s lives has helped me to see my own desires either in contrast or accordance with others. This practice of tourism has been an invaluable learning experience.

I am a tourist trying on multiple lives. I have been applying for and interviewing for jobs. Each one involves imaging myself in a new role. How do I feel about it, what do I really want. I know I want to live with passion. I am currently interviewing for a position that speaks to some of my passions. I have found that I don’t have to imagine myself in this life. I understand what I want and I only have to explain to these future employers that we are on the same path. You can only find what you are looking for and now that I know I am well on my way to getting it.

I have begun attending a school which asks nothing of me except that I create with passion. I just finished my first piece of course work. The act of creating this piece has left me feeling very content. I have found my flow that so often has eluded my creative process. I realise now that I am feeling freer to create because I understand who I am and what I want to create. Creation is about deepening your understanding of yourself and the people that you surround yourself with.

All of this has happened since I have given up the life I have known and taken a massive leap of trust. I had to be brave enough to trust myself and the people that I love to be there to teach me. I have begun to learn all the things I have ever wanted to know. As I learn more, my understanding will form concrete creativity that I can confidently show the world.

I cannot wait to discover more things I can express in my art.

Leave a comment